Morris F. Collen Award Winners

morris-collen-awardIn honor of Morris F. Collen, a pioneer in the field, this prestigious award is the highest honor in informatics that is presented by the American College of Medical Informatics to an individual whose personal commitment and dedication to biomedical informatics has made a lasting impression on healthcare and biomedicine.

2014 - Charles Safran, MD, FACMI - Video Tribute - AMIA Page

2001: Co-recipients: Howard L. Bleich, MD, FACMI and Warner V. Slack, MD, FACMI - Video Tribute - JAMIA Article

ACMI Fellows

ACMIACMI (the American College of Medical Informatics) is a college of elected fellows who have made significant and sustained contributions to the field of biomedical informatics.


Yuri Quintana, PhD, FACMI - Year Elected: 2018Current Chief of DCI

John D. Halamka, MD, FACMI -Year Elected: 2008 - DCI Fellow 1996-1997

Jonathan S. Wald, MD, MPH, FACMI - Year Elected: 2007 - DCI Fellow 1992-1994

Heimar de Fatima Marin, RN, MS, PhD, FACMI - Year Elected: 2004DCI Fellow 1996 – 98

David M. Rind, MD, MS, FACMI  -Year Elected: 2004  - DCI Fellow 1989-1990

Daniel Z. Sands, MD, MPH, FACMI - Year Elected: 2003 - DCI Fellow 1991-1992

Alexa T. McCray, PhD, FACMI - Year Elected:  1994- Current DCI Faculty

Warner V. Slack, MD, FACMI - Year Elected:  1984Co-Founder of DCI

Howard Bleich, MD, FACMI - Year Elected: 1984 - Co-Founder of DCI

Other Awards by Year

2020 -Alexa McCray, PhD, FACMI - Awarded the William W. Stead Award for Thought Leadership in Informatics

2020 - John D. Halamka, MD, FACMI  - Elected to the National Academy of Medicine

2017 - Charles Safran, MD - Elected to the International Academy of Health Sciences Informatics

2013  -Charles Safran, MD, FACMI - Awarded Don Eugene Detmer Award for Health Policy Contributions in Informatics

2001  Alexa McCray, PhD, FACMI  - Elected to the National Academy of Medicine